National Basket Association (NBA)

By Alexander Moussafiris, Antony Dendis, Andrew Tzolas & Alexander Tsapkounis


The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a men’s professional basketball league in North America; composed of 30 teams (29 in the United States and 1 in Canada). It is widely considered to be the premier men’s professional basketball league in the world.

The current league organization divides thirty teams into two conferences of three divisions with five teams each. The current divisional alignment was introduced in the 2004–05 season. Reflecting the population distribution of the United States and Canada as a whole, most teams are in the eastern half of the country: thirteen teams are in the Eastern Time Zone, nine in the Central, three in the Mountain, and five in the Pacific.

Atlantic Boston Celtics Boston, Massachusetts TD Garden
Brooklyn Nets New York City, New York Barclays Center
New York Knicks New York City, New York Madison Square Garden
Philadelphia 76ers Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Wells Fargo Center
Toronto Raptors Toronto, Ontario Scotiabank Arena
Central Chicago Bulls Chicago, Illinois United Center
Cleveland Cavaliers Cleveland, Ohio Quicken Loans Arena
Detroit Pistons Detroit, Michigan Little Caesars Arena
Indiana Pacers Indianapolis, Indiana Bankers Life Fieldhouse
Milwaukee Bucks Milwaukee, Wisconsin Fiserv Forum
Southeast Atlanta Hawks Atlanta, Georgia State Farm Arena
Charlotte Hornets Charlotte, North Carolina Spectrum Center
Miami Heat Miami, Florida American Airlines Arena
Orlando Magic Orlando, Florida Amway Center
Washington Wizards Washington, D.C. Capital One Arena
Northwest Denver Nuggets Denver, Colorado Pepsi Center
Minnesota Timberwolves Minneapolis, Minnesota Target Center
Oklahoma City Thunder Oklahoma City, Oklahoma Chesapeake Energy Arena
Portland Trail Blazers Portland, Oregon Moda Center
Utah Jazz Salt Lake City, Utah Vivint Smart Home Arena
Pacific Golden State Warriors Oakland, California Oracle Arena
Los Angeles Clippers Los AngelesCalifornia Staples Center
Los Angeles Lakers Los Angeles, California Staples Center
Phoenix Suns Phoenix, Arizona Talking Stick Resort Arena
Sacramento Kings Sacramento, California Golden 1 Center
Southwest Dallas Mavericks Dallas, Texas American Airlines Center
Houston Rockets Houston, Texas Toyota Center
Memphis Grizzlies Memphis, Tennessee FedEx Forum
New Orleans Pelicans New Orleans, Louisiana Smoothie King Center
San Antonio Spurs San Antonio, Texas AT&T Center


Following the summer break, teams begin training camps in late September. Training camps allow the coaching staff to evaluate players (especially rookies), scout the team’s strengths and weaknesses, prepare the players for the rigorous regular season, and determine the 12-man active roster (and a 3-man inactive list) with which they will begin the regular season. During the regular season, each team plays 82 games, 41 each home and away.

The Boston Celtics have won the most championships with 17 NBA Finals wins. The second most successful franchise is the Los Angeles Lakers, who have 16 overall championships (11 in Los Angeles, 5 in Minneapolis). Following the Lakers, are the Chicago Bulls and Golden State Warriors (2 in Philadelphia, 4 in Oakland) with six championships each. The San Antonio Spurs have five championships, all since 1999.